SAVAK, Lake Ruth, Gold Muse w/DJ Slist

SAVAK, Lake Ruth, Gold Muse w/DJ Slist

Fri · March 24, 2017

8:30 pm


This event is 21 and over

Beg Your Pardon is the third album in as many years from Brooklyn-based rock’n’roll band SAVAK, formed in 2015 by members of The Obits, Holy Fuck, The Cops and Nation of Ulysses.

The new album follows a compelling progression from their past releases—equally the most punk rock and sublime record in their repertoire. Beg Your Pardon features everything from noisy careeners and ‘80s hardcore nods to slightly glammy stompers and straight-up, New Zealand-inspired, guitar-pop songs (and that’s just in the first 10 minutes of side one).

The band recorded and produced Beg Your Pardon themselves in their Gowanus practice space and then handed off the songs to Mikey Young (Royal Headache, Kelley Stoltz), Geoff Sanoff (Nada Surf, Luna), Ed Ackerman (The Jayhawks, John Wesley Harding) and Matthew Barnhart (Superchunk, METZ) to mix.

Beg Your Pardon will be available worldwide on November 9th, 2018 via Ernest Jenning Record Co. with exclusive vinyl releases by Taken By Surprise Records (Germany), Bang! Records (France), Geenger Records (Croatia), Orangerie (Czech Republic) and Hello Thor Records (UK).
Lake Ruth
Lake Ruth
Lake Ruth was formed in 2015 by multi-instrumentalist Hewson Chen of The New Lines, drummer Matt Schulz (Holy Fuck, SAVAK, Enon) and vocalist Allison Brice, best known for her prior work with UK groups The Eighteenth Day of May and The Silver Abduction. Their debut 7", 'The Inconsolable Jean-Claude / The Prisoner's Dimemma' was released to critical acclaim in February 2016 on UK cult label The Great Pop Supplement (Spacemen 3, Dean & Britta, Wooden Shjips), with a full-length album, 'Actual Entity' following in June to an equally enthusiastic reception.

With a unique sound rooted in 1960s experimentation, the trio blends elements of baroque pop, pysch, kraut, jazz and electronic music – resulting in rhythmically propulsive tunes, rich with multilayered guitars, modular synths and atmospheric vocals.

A three piece in the studio, Lake Ruth doubles in size for the live stage, with the addition of René Dennis (The New Lines), James Canty (The Make-Up, Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, Savak) and Sohrab Habibion (Edsel, Obits, Savak).


"Explores all manner of '60s baroque psychedelia, full of chiming guitars, harpsichord, a wide array of organs and synthesizers, and dips into faery folk, krautrock and other studies... It's a gorgeous, bewitching album." — Brooklyn Vegan

"The LP's grand throughout, but they really get you on the opening track, a Zombies/Left Banke baroque treasure like the wistful Chills backing Dusty Springfield or maybe Nancy Sinatra for a Bond film." — The Big Takeover

"How the Allah-Las would most probably sound if they were to get in touch with their feminine side. Bullseyes are hit with effortless frequency and such heady quality, resulting in an aural creation of unerring beauty." - Shindig! Magazine

"Splices together lattices of salacious Histoire de Melody Nelson-style funk and Broadcast's retro space-pop, over which Brice's airy Sarah Cracknell-meets-Kate Bush tones glide with a calming confidence… insistent drums, fuzz-tone guitar and luxuriant keyboards imagine Stereolab cutting some rug in an almost baroque fashion." — Delusions of Adequacy
Gold Muse
Gold Muse
Gold Muse is a Boston-based band featuring members of Swirlies, Soccer Mom and Broken River Prophet. The band has three digital singles, self-released between December 2015 - July 2016 available on Bandcamp for download.
Venue Information:
Union Hall - Brooklyn
702 Union Street
Brooklyn, NY, 11215